Invisibilia

Invisibilia, latin for „all things that are invisible“.

Invisibilia is also a brand new podcast, hosted by Lulu Miller (former Radiolab producer) and Alix Spiegel (one of the founder producers of This American Life). How could this podcast possibly be anything but great?.

As a psychology student I’m immediately drawn in by their promise to explore „invisible“ things. Invisible, not meaning science fiction or magic, but daily human life. The most important parts of our lives are invisible. Thoughts that shape our behavior & our interaction with other humans are ultimately invisible.

While procrastinating on my talk about psychopathy, Machiavellianism & Narcissism for a seminar at university, I hear Lulu and Alix unwrap the story about S, a man that suddenly started to have nagging violent thought about killing people.

Dark, even violent, thoughts are one of the most interesting phenomenons of psychology if you ask me. I’m not only talking about thoughts as described by S, but also about our daily dark thoughts. It’s thoughts like „no one likes me“ when my friend hasn’t texted me back even though she’s seen my message hours ago or „i’m stupid“ when I read the same paragraph of a paper for the third time without understanding even one word, that can alter the way I feel and behave.

Lulu & Alix go on talking about the revolution that is currently happening concerning „thinking about thinking“ and how our thoughts are not per se the problem, but how we react to such thoughts.

So in the end, S is probably just very conscious of his own thoughts which then leads to the thought reoccurring and nagging him even more.

Learning and trusting that some thoughts that come into our head are just not that important, can help to let go of exactly those thoughts that have a negative impact on our life and to emphasize those that will shape your behavior and feeling in a positive way.

How comforting is that?!

Excuse me while I binge-listen to the Invisibilia podcast while finally finishing my talk for next week, motivated to make it a good one.

Ein Gedanke zu “Invisibilia

Kommentar verfassen

